~The Resting Place~ by Jessa

Jessa

Relaxing on a warm sunny day, the refreshing breeze gently brushes against me as I watch the boats on the dock get ready to explore the crisp waters after winter’s season of storage. The water cool, but inviting, and the mountains in the distance stand majestic and strong. It is a beautiful day. A day that reminds me that rest is just as important as responsibility.

During this season of my life, I am learning more about the beauty of rest, which God gave me. In my mind, I always correlated rest with abstaining from any activity, but I am discovering God’s peace in day-to-day living that reveals His nature as a “Giver of Rest” anytime and anywhere. We can live from a place of rest in the midst of our responsibilities.

“Therefore, since the promise of entering his rest still stands, let us be careful that none of you be found to have fallen short of it” (Heb 4:1).

So maybe you’re overwhelmed… Maybe you currently have a lot on your mind, or you don’t have all the pieces to your puzzle yet and are worried about what tomorrow brings. I have good news! You have a promise available to you and it still stands. “Come to me ALL who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest” (Matt 11:28). When you are busy in your heart, mind, and body you may enter into a place that’s made just for you. This is the “secret place” of your heart where everything you do flows out of resting with Him.

In Psalm 23:2, King David paints a beautiful picture of rest that mirrors what I experienced at the lake with my husband. What he wrote isn’t just scripture, but a real place Jesus made available to us to enter into.

“He makes me lie down in green pastures,

he leads me besides quiet waters,

he restores my soul.”

We are invited by God to live in rest every day, and as you read this prayer open your heart to receive what God already desires to give you…

God thank you that it’s in you I find rest for my heart, mind, and body, and that you have already made a way for me to enter into a beautiful, harmonious place with you. God teach me and remind me of this promise that is made in covenant relationship with you. In your grace Jesus, open the pathways of my heart that I can see and receive your gift of rest. Amen.

Resting in Love,

Jessa

Leave a Reply

