~Knowing…has a deeper meaning.~by Jessa

 

“Theres no place I can go Your love won’t find me,

No place I can hide you don’t see.

No place I can fall your love couldn’t catch me,

You see it all through the eyes of love.”

Song “You Don’t Miss a Thing” By Amanda Cooke

 

In this blog I will be honest and vulnerable with you as a writer. Everything I have received by grace is made available for everyone, and it’s free! He loved us first and chose to open His heart to everybody who would come to Him.  In a strong and healthy relationship, both people value connection.  It’s the choice they make to choose to love one another.  Our relationship with God is the same.

It is so easy to accumulate a lot of knowledge over the years and be satisfied with the understanding we have of God from theology and church attendance, etc.   For example, if someone asked, “Can you tell me the names of God,” generally, we could come up with a well-educated and correct answer based on our experience and prior knowledge.  But is that really the same thing as knowing God?  I know my neighbor by name…but do I really know her?

It wasn’t until I came to my husband one evening, (with a lot of anxious thoughts!), that his response showed me a lot about who he is for me as my husband. I saw him as very understanding and patient. That’s when my spirit reminded me of Graham Cooke, saying of God, “I want you to know me as I am for you. I want you to see me as I am for you.”  That really convicted me and I saw my heart through God’s eyes, which was so thirsty.

It isn’t enough to know of God from history. I need to know Him for today-who He is in this moment, and who He is for me.

It is in God’s character to reveal Himself to those who truly seek out His heart. He wants us captivated by his eyes of love and by His heart’s desire to be with us.

Jeremiah 29:12 says, “Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me, and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you.” Declares the Lord, “and will bring you back from captivity.”

He encourages us with his willingness to be found by us!

If your relationship with God seems stagnant or in the same spot, I am excited for you!  Why?  Because I know God is inviting you to come closer, to give you a grace to see Him for who He is for you and to know Him each and every day, growing more in love with Him. If you have always felt distant or have been placing your heart far from God, I want to encourage you that you are not out of His reach. His arms are not too short and you are not too far. He receives you just as you are.

Say this prayer with me-

Thank You God that You want to know me, and You want to reveal who You are to me.  I embrace what you are doing in my life in this season.  Lord, forgive me for being content with just the knowledge of You. My heart is thirsty to know You deeply and intimately. Fill me with thoughts of Who You are during the day as I think about You, and show me where I need to make room in my heart for more of who You are for me today.

Amen

~Jessa

Leave a Reply

