~Asking for Help~by Leaona

I was praying the other day, repenting because of a bad attitude I had.  I was tired.  I was double tired.  I don’t know about you, but when I’m tired, my attitude can take a dive.  It could be work, relationships, kids, car trouble, or many other things.  Sometimes I am flat out disappointed in my own actions, or just how my thoughts are moving.  On this day, it was my thoughts, and I didn’t seem to be doing a good job of taking them captive, either.

Funny how God will show us things in scripture that we haven’t really seen before – even though we’ve read a verse many times.  That was how it happened for me.

In reading the Psalms, I found 42 and 43 to come alive on this topic!  Here, the writer questions himself, just like I was doing.  Then – BAM – some positive self-talk I needed to see, and a reminder that God has help for ALL things, including my bad attitude.

Two times, in subsequent Psalms…Wow – what God won’t do to get through to me!

 

“Why, my soul, are you downcast?

Why so disturbed within me?

Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise Him,

my Savior and my God.”

 

I can actually challenge myself, and put my hope in God and ask Him to help buck up my attitude, knowing that I WILL yet praise Him.

Whew – thought I had to do that one all on my own.

~Leaona

Leave a Reply

