~His song through my pain~ By Jessa

 I remember being in my house in California, feeling alone. I suffered terrible loneliness after my mom passed away. The memories of her in every area of the house would flood my mind. I would look at the stove and see her cooking, I would look at the living room and see her wrapping Christmas gifts,  I would look outside and imagine her car pulling up… I wished my reality wasn’t real.
Processing through the loss of my mom, I remember flipping through music stations and came across the song You Alone by Echoing Angels. The words were so comforting and conveyed to me hope, and I just knew God was talking to me through that song.
     I’m desperately wanting to just find a way
     I’m searching and seeking for someone to say
     That it’s alright and it’s okay like I know You can
     That it’s alright and it’s okay like I know You can
     You alone are God
     I am Yours and You’re mine
     And I know the Heavens will call out Your name
     If I don’t
Feeling lonely with so much pain inside, I knew God was saying, “You are in My arms.” God saw me alone, full of grief and out of control, but He held me through the uncertainty of my life…
Little did I know that a few years later, God would touch me deeply through prayer. My whole heart and mind was drawn into His presence and all the pain from the loss of my mom poured out of me. It was a safe place for all pain, fear, and disappointment to be released into the pierced hands and feet of Jesus, who set me free in my heart, and filled me with His love. He was so much more alive than I ever knew him to be; I was not in control, but He was and it was amazing. I was sobbing, and snot was running down my nose; oh it was beautiful! I was a mess, but I was in love.
After this divine moment with Holy Spirit, I was a completely different person. A new passion for God burned deep within me. He wasn’t the one to blame for my mom’s passing. The “whys” and “what if’s” completely went away and the locked chambers of my broken heart were flung open by His holy presence, where He gave me a deep compassion to understand people’s pain through His eyes. It took years with many tears and seeking His heart in spite of things I still don’t understand, but God took me from ashes to beauty and healed my heart faithfully. When we allow ourselves to cry, to be raw, to be real with ourselves and with God, it brings us into a place of genuine connection and restoration. The Lord is faithful, and He takes great delight in walking with us through our pain.
The Lord your God is with you,

    the Mighty Warrior who saves.
He will take great delight in you;

    in his love he will no longer rebuke you,
    but will rejoice over you with singing. (Zephaniah 3:17)
There is a song he is singing over you in  your life right now and the melody of his song can carry you through this season and set you up for a beautiful chapter in your life.
~Jessa
Leave a Reply

