~A Place to Belong~ By Jessa

Ever hear yourself saying, “I feel out of place?”

For a while, I couldn’t pinpoint what my heart was going through… I felt scattered inside, unsure where I belonged in this world. I was asking myself “What is wrong with me?” Without realizing it, this question was taking my thoughts down a road of self-pity and depression, which created a vicious cycle of fear and insecurity in my self-worth in the presence of others.

In this warfare with myself, I found the root of my fears in the desire to be accepted by others.  Because of my past experience with the bitter pain of rejection, I wanted to fill the void.  I would have vain thoughts about my looks, my job, what I owned, and what position I had in leadership to help build my self-image in my own sight. What I truly wanted, what my heart was crying out for, was a place to belong.

Hosea 2:23 reveals God’s heart towards those who feel like they don’t belong-

I will plant her for myself in the land;

I will show my love to the one I called ‘Not my loved one.’

I will say to those called ‘Not my people,’ ‘You are my people’;

And they will say, ‘You are my God.’”

What an amazing revelation about the heart of God!

I felt so much shame while locked in the trap of building my own self-worth.  Knowing that in His mercy and compassion, Jesus heard my cry, melted my heart and made it easier to turn away from those things I was filling my heart-gap in with.

It is freeing knowing there is a place of unconditional love and acceptance in the arms of Christ. The world cannot experience His love through us if we are searching for love in the world for ourselves. He guides us away from striving into resting in His embrace… the comforting truth of belonging in his presence, and in that place we and our world can know his love.

You are free because you are loved.

You are accepted because you belong.

~Jessa

One thought on “~A Place to Belong~ By Jessa

Leave a Reply

