~Our Heart’s Beliefs~ By Faith

Do you ever feel like you keep repeating mistakes over and over again? Like you can almost acknowledge that there must be some limits you have on yourself that keep you boxed in?

Well, I have found some hope in the thought that my heart’s beliefs are basically running the show in my life. If I can see a situation where I am experiencing self-sabotage, I now feel so much hope in the fact that God can help me change my heart’s beliefs, and that will in turn affect everything else.

One of my favorite scriptures is Proverbs 23:7 “As a man thinks in his heart, so is he.”  Our heart communicates to our brain 95% and the brain back to the heart only 5%.  When we wear out the phrase “positive thinking,” I think we miss that we can’t just try harder to think good thoughts, it must begin in the heart.

We develop our heart’s beliefs as children based on what we observe in every different situation and then personalize it to what we think it means about us.  We tend to either repeat what we observed or do the complete opposite.

A heart belief is developed by “meditating” on a thought over and over again and attaching emotion to it. A lot of the time we do that with a situation that offended us and we re-live it over again…the pain or embarrassment that situation brought.

But the Bible instructs us so clearly on this very topic. Philippians 4:8 “Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious – the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.”

If I intentionally take the time to write out or think on something that is pure, or noble, or lovely and then attach those emotions and really sit with it, that changes my posture, clarity of mind, facial muscles…everything.

Every thought that we think affects every cell in our body.  A new practice I am trying is to write out different promises from God and “meditate” on one each day and put sticky notes around my house to remind me to take captive what I am dwelling on.

How exciting to evaluate the different areas of our life and make room for His promises!

 

~Faith

Leave a Reply

