~Acceptable~ By Mary

I woke up this morning after an anxiety dream. You know the kind I’m talking about, where everything is a falling apart and you can’t find the baby. I breathed a sigh of relief when it dawned on me that it was just a dream. However, I still felt unsettled in my soul.

 

As I snuggled on the couch to enjoy my “Jehovah and Java”, I started writing words of confession to God, “I messed up last night Lord, with too much talking and not enough listening.” After telling God the details, I followed with, “Lord sometimes I feel like I’m doing okay and other times, I feel like I have so far to go.  For today, by the power of your Holy Spirit, help me to be less of me, and more of you.”

 

God’s amazing grace filled me when I opened His Word and my eyes fell on Psalm 100:5, “The Lord is good. His love is forever, and His Loyalty goes on and on.” I was reminded once again that Jesus’ love does not depend upon what I do for Him. Not one bit. In the eyes of my Lord, I have value simply because I am His. I don’t have to look nice or perform well. I have value because He gave it to me.

 

This is powerful stuff. Ponder it for a while. I am valuable, and so are you, just because we exist. It is not about what we do. It is all about what He has done. I’m still praying to become more of Him and less of me. But I know in the meantime, I am perfectly acceptable to God, just the way I am. In the words of Max Lucado, “No Wonder They Call Him the Savior”

 

~Mary

Leave a Reply

