~The Finish line~ By Rheannon

What A Night

Last night I released my brand new album called “Out Late & Reckless.”  What a ride!  People came from all over the valley to hear the music that my friends and I have been practicing for weeks.  There were 240 people there at the peak of the event. Talk about A BLESSING!

The show was outside in the center of my town, at a place called Depot Park.  The sky was slightly dark, and we worried a bit that we would get rained on.  But, the rain held out, only gracing us with a few of its glistening drops.  The breeze picked up, and blew applause through the trees for my beautiful opener, Michelle Rivers, the band and I.  The lights glistened on the stage, and shot colors through the night as the sun began to fade.  It was wonderful.  A hard earned success story, filled with gratitude to those who made it possible.

The day started out with sound trouble, missing cables and last minute problems.  We worked through each situation and tried to keep our heads, which can be a challenge when things go a bit askew.  But, in the end, we started only a few minutes late, and we were ready to roll.  The crowd was gracious and kind, clapping and cheering us on.  We hit the finish line.

The finish line….I’ve been working toward this moment for years, writing songs, creating memories- all the sweat and tears could move a sunken ship from its resting place.  I think of Olympians and how all the training they have gone through has prepared them for the finish line- the practices, the injuries, the victories over time.

But I know that this finish line is only one of many to come.  In fact, it’s only one of many prior!  Anyone knows that you don’t win a race the first time you decide to drop your doughnut and go for it that day. (I WISH!)  Ask my friend Jessie Pappenfus. It takes training, purposeful planning, dedication and skill.  It is learned over time.

I started singing and playing music when I was a child.  I knew that it was God’s heart’s desire for my life- to honor Him with my very best.  I studied, learned, tried, failed, succeeded, stood and fell.  I have so much more to learn and grown in.  This process, I am sure, will continue until I am an old woman, full of years and wisdom, and slightly less teeth.

There have been days when I have fallen and failed to reach the line.  I’m sure you know what I mean.  I am so thankful for the gift of God’s grace over my life in these areas!  I am certain that I will have more opportunities coming in the future to learn something new, maybe be pruned a little to better fit the bill that God has asked me to sign.

Keep moving forward toward your finish line.  It may only be one of many, but work hard for it and never give up.  Ask God for strength and wisdom.  Pursue His very best.  Love Him with all your heart and love the people He puts in your path.  That is our ultimate goal.  To win people to the heart of God.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27 (NLT) says, “24 Don’t you realize that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize? So run to win! 25 All athletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. 26 So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing. 27 I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should…”

Go For It.

 

~Rheannon

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

