~The Adventure of Change~ By Rheannon

I’m Sanguine Choleric.  That means I’m sociable and fun and outgoing…until a job needs done. Then the job gets done.  I used to be an immature Sanguine Phlegmatic-I went with the flow and had a fun bubbly personality to go with it.  Sometimes I was a bit too far on the carefree and fun side, and the job didn’t get done.

That didn’t go over well at my workplace.

It took me a while to catch on to the understanding that working for someone means doing the job the way they want it done.  That can be a painful process if you are slightly stubborn, or artistic- or in my case a little bit of both!

Over time, however, I did learn to do the task, and became more responsible and grew into an Assistant Manager position at my job.  Boy did that ever change me!  You never know what truly goes into running a ship until you are the one responsible for the thing.  I earned a whole new respect for those in positions of authority- ANYWHERE.  It’s a tough job!

When I became a manager, my personality changed.  It didn’t take long before I was a “get it done” type of person.  I have a fierce protector living inside of me…she has no problem guarding what has been entrusted to her, be it the store itself, or the girls who worked there.  You mess with either of those things (the girls especially- they were my treasure) and you get the protector out of me quick.

I married a man who is Melancholy Phlegmatic.  He is calm and cool and kind of quiet until you start a conversation about government, taxes, business or cars.  He loves that stuff.  And he knows all about it.  The stuff he knows literally blows my mind sometimes.  Aaaahhh, but the Phlegmatic in him has really been key in helping me unwind and go with the flow a little more.  Like I said, I was a manager, and that Phlegmatic me that I used to be went deep, deep, away.

I can be a bit up-tight about schedule changes now.  I love my calendar.  I love a good plan.  I like to know what the plan is in advance, if possible.  My hubby brings out the calm in me now.  He is such a “go with the flow and don’t get your panties in a wad” type of person.  I am so thankful.  He keeps a clam head for much longer than I do.  I can bust hot in about a second flat sometimes.

The last few months of our lives have been just filled with change.  I would be a lie if I said it has all been simple for me.  I do believe all of it has been geared toward the direction that God Himself is leading us, and I can feel the breath of God on all of it.  There have been some tears from me while things have been changing, and some irritation, because I don’t like to have a “finalized” plan change after I’ve already put it into the calendar of my mind and heart, but I have learned so much!

I now see the adventure in change.  It has been said that when God closes a door, somewhere He opens a window.  I am certain of it.  I may not see it at the moment of change, but I am certain that He is doing something.  I can feel it.

Today, we had a good change knock on the front door of our hearts.  As tears began to glisten in my eyes, I said, “Well, what do we do now?”  My husband leaned on the counter, got a shine in his smile and said, “I’m ready for an adventure if you are!”

I’m ready.  It may be a challenge in the beginning, but I’m ready.  God brings us each to a place of change in His time.  He is faithful to open the window and shed light on your next move.  So, today, I’m going to move on from the “What do I do now,” and move into the “I’m ready for an adventure if you are” mode.

All 100% Sanguine Choleric of me.

Proverbs 16:9 ESV “The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps.”

Rheannon

business card1

Leave a Reply

