~No Sugar Added~By Leaona

My Dad loved me. He loved me when I was good, but he also loved me when I was not so good. I tried, but sometimes I made mistakes. (Then again, sometimes I did not try! Dad saw that, too.)

One thing my Dad did showed me he really loved me, and it made it much easier for me later in life to accept that Jesus loved me no matter what I had done. I have remembered it since I was a girl.

I love to bake. I began enjoying it early in life. Mom baked all the time, so I had a good teacher. My Mom went bowling one night a week, and sometimes I got to cook when she was away. We’re talking simple here, folks. Mac and cheese, with jello! But I also liked to make dessert, or biscuits. Whatever I made, I made it for my Dad. He always got first taste and he was always generous and complimentary. One time more than others, in particular.

On this occasion, I made brownies. Boxed brownies weren’t really on the scene yet – I made these from scratch. They filled the house with a wonderful aroma, and they looked great! I waited just long enough for them to cool to the touch…just enough to allow them to be easily cut. Of course, I cut a big piece for my Dad, and I proudly served him a plate with a huge brownie. He smiled so big, and thanked me, then picked up the fork and took a big bite. “This is really good, sweetie.” I was so happy! Then he took another bite and said “Did you use any sugar?”

I forgot the sugar! Not a drop. Dark chocolate with dark chocolate on dark chocolate. I was so upset. On the verge of tears due to humiliation, I looked at my Dad with big eyes, so disappointed. “It’s okay,” he said, “just needs a bit of sugar.” At that, he got up, went to the sugar jar, and sprinkled sugar on top of the mess I had made, sat back down, and ate the whole thing! He fixed my mess, and made it go away, and kept me from feeling like a total failure. Maybe if he hadn’t, I wouldn’t still enjoy baking for my friends and family today. He spared me from my own mess-up and left me feeling very valuable to him.

Rom 8:1-2 There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit. 2 For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made me free from the law of sin and death.

God sent Jesus to sprinkle my sins with the only thing that makes me presentable to Him, Jesus Christ’s own blood. His Loving Atonement has taken away my humiliation, and left me knowing that He loves me.

Even when I make mistakes. Even when there is no sugar added. Jesus’ atonement is the sweet covering that makes my life presentable before Abba (Daddy) Father. What Love!

 

~Leaona

Leave a Reply

