~What God Sees~ by Belinda

1 Samuel 16:7b – …the Lord sees, not like man sees; for man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord, He looks on the heart.
God instructed Samuel to go seek out a King for Israel. God did not tell Samuel in advance who He was going to choose. Samuel just had to listen and obey. God instructed him to go to the house of Jesse, for He had chosen one of Jesse’s sons as King.

Samuel met seven of Jesse’s sons.

They were tall and strong men who appeared to be fit for this most important position, but God said “NO” to each one of them. The last son, who was tending the sheep, was called in to meet Samuel. He was the runt of the family, small and insignificant, yet He possessed the qualities that God was looking for. God made His choice and Samuel anointed David. When the Spirit of God entered David like a mighty rushing wind, God vitally empowered David for the rest of his life, not because of the way he spoke or looked, but because of what God saw in his heart.
I have always wondered what GOD SEES in me. Why did He choose me to be His child? What difference did He think I could make for His kingdom? How can He possibly know my heart, my innermost thoughts, my insecurities and my sin, and passionately love me anyway? How can He use me despite myself? When I question what God sees in me, I remember these few facts:
GOD DOES NOT use our system of measurements.
GOD DOES NOT value beauty over humility.
GOD DOES NOT measure charm above integrity.
GOD DOES NOT acknowledge labor over faith.
GOD SEES and ultimately MEASURES the core of our heart and the truth of our character, as He looks at us through the blood of Jesus Christ.
So now, it’s your turn. What does GOD SEE in your life? Is He looking through the eyes of Christ?

Belinda Jane is a musicianary, writer, speaker, teacher, coach and all around renaissance woman, who tackles life creatively, wanders down a road less traveled, and leaps beyond the ordinary to share the love of Christ with others. Find more about Belinda Jane, her music and ministry at http://www.belindajanemusic.com.

Leave a Reply

