~Forgiveness~ by Christina

I’m watching a friend take steps towards going off the deep end. Choices I never thought they would make.
I’m not disappointed, as I’m sure this person thinks I am.
I am sad. So sad.
Sad because of the broken relationships I see.
Sad because I wonder if today and tomorrows choices will limit their possibilities in the future.
Sad because consequences are so hard to watch, and so much harder to experience.

I have made so many of those wrong choices. How about you? So many things that caused significant consequences, things that seemed to set fire to my future.
Choices that were “WHAT I WANT!”, or my emotions said so in the moment. Unfortunately, in my life “WHAT I WANT” can be justified, if I feel it deeply enough…until the next morning, or until someone I respect finds out, or until God shines the light of His gentle truth into the darkness of my heart.

I can’t express enough how grateful I am that God is sooooo full of grace (and I know, I’m supposed to be writing like a grown-up right now, but somehow, I need to let God be SOOOOO full of grace when I’m talking about this). He takes me back again, and again, and again.
God has saved me from so many terrible wrong choices in my past that I don’t have a lot of the ‘big’ sins left. Having gone through so much pain, I really understand the joy that comes from forgiveness and from his faithfulness.

Today, I wish that joy for everyone reading this. I pray that the next few verses will reach deep into the scared shadows of your soul or be a little spiritual neosporin for the scabs on your heart from the past.

The best news I have for you- if you are still struggling with guilt, fighting emotional choices, or are scared to return to God- is that the more times I humble myself before God, the more faith I have in him and the less likely I am to make those “I WANT IT” choices again. It costs too much. It hurts too bad. It’s so much better staying in his grace. His love is so much better.

Turn to him quickly and accept his love and restoration.
If you are sad as I am for someone else, have confidence in his love for your friend, as I am choosing. And pray deeply-

Joel 20:25 “I will restore to you the years that the swarming locusts have eaten.”

Acts 3:19 “Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord.”

Ezekiel 34:16 “I will search for the lost and bring back the strays. I will bind up the injured and strengthen the weak.”

Romans 8:28 “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

Isaiah 61:1-3 “The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor.  He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn, and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of joy instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.”

~Christina

2 thoughts on “~Forgiveness~ by Christina

  1. Still praying for Layne. Claiming these verses as our family (and especially my grandsons) reap the consequences of his choices. I’m so thankful for God’s grace and mercy that enables me to live my wayward son…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry I missed your comment. Absolutely keep praying and I will pray for you all as well. God is faithful and strong, and His heart toward wayward people is overflowing with grace and goodness. Keep your chin up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

