~Prep-Time!~ By Rheannon

Ever know you are going to go on a trip, but insist that you can pack the night before, or the day of?  Me too.  All the time!  I know that it would be waaayy better for me to do the work before I actually have to leave, but for some reason, I just seem to put it off.  I always think there will be time…LOL.

Boy oh boy has that ever come back to smack me sometimes!  It’ll be the day of the trip and I’m like, “Oh my gosh, there’s so much more to do than I was thinking yesterday!”  HA!

Isn’t that how our lives are sometimes?

Last Wednesday, Pastor Roy McDaniel shared the art of preparation with our youth group.  He used an example from pro- hockey player Wayne Gretzky, who stated, “A good hockey player plays where the puck is. A great hockey player plays where the puck is going to be.”

Faith is like this too!  If we really want to be effective on the field of faith, we have to be prepared beforehand!  Makes sense, right?  Just like running a marathon, you can’t decide to get off the couch the day of the race and expect to be anywhere but on the sidelines huffing and puffing!

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, and what really strikes me is how easy it really is to be prepared “in season and out of season” if you will.  It’s just about time with God, in His Word, and time in prayer.  God can do anything.  He is looking for partners who want to get out there and do things with Him, too!  I SO want to be that person.  If you read my last blog, you know that I am working on this right now as well!  I am SO ready to see God moving in the lives of people around me.  I want to be like a chess piece that He moves about to strategically engage in His purpose for the day!  WOOHOO!

Let’s dust off our praying knees and get in the game, baby!  That way, we will be prepared, and God can move us to where the “puck” is and is going to be!

“…but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for the hope that is in you…” 1 Peter 3:15 ESV

~Rheannon

Leave a Reply

