~Priorities~ By Faith

In my last blog we discovered by the great wisdom of a friend of mine, that excuses are merely lies we are telling ourselves.
So then, how do we choose where to start taking back our lives and living intentionally?
I feel like the biggest lie we typically end up telling ourselves is that we would do this good thing or that good thing but we don’t have time.  How then, is it that some accomplish so much more than others? At the end of the day don’t we all have the same amount of time? Yes we do.
If you aren’t sure what your priorities currently are, take an “inventory” of how and where you are spending your time and money. This, my friend, will reveal what is valuable to you, or what you have let become valuable by not living intentionally.
If you are not living on purpose currently, don’t loose heart, it’s never too late to start!
I believe the starting point is opening our eyes to how much time we actually have.

We all have 168 hours in a week. If you sleep 8 hours a night (which I highly recommend) that would be 56 hours subtracted. There’s 112 left. If you work a full-time job that’s another 40 hours subtracted. Leaving 72 hours! That’s an average of 10 hours a day after sleeping and working a full-time job! It won’t necessarily average out like that especially if you have two days off per week but isn’t that amazing?
It sounds rigid but when I learned how to manage my time, a half hour at a time, it actually created so much freedom for me. Instead of “wishing” my day had gone differently, months going by not making progress on goals, I now can make a plan and schedule it into my months, weeks and days. Also It helps me to be present in what I am doing because it’s what I planned to do, whether it’s rest, family time or work, there’s no guilt.
I recommend choosing one or two areas that you are going to focus on. Starting with the end result in mind, what would you like your life to look like in each of these areas?
Then figure out what it would take to get you there. Monthly, weekly and daily.
Here are the 8 “lanes of living” for you to choose your 1 or 2 that you are going to focus on for now:
Spiritual life
Family life
Physical health
Financial health
Professional life
Personal Development
Social life
Community involvement

To give an example let’s do physical health-
In 90 days I’d like to have lost 25lbs.
That breaks down to 8 pounds/month, 2lbs/week.
I will exercise 30 min/day, 5 days/week and eat salad for lunch on those days. So when will I schedule that exercise? What’s realistic for my days? Then will I honor that commitment as I would any other appointment on my schedule? This can go for anything.
How great would it feel to live intentionally and enjoy the rewards of those choices? Let’s try letting go of all the factors we cannot control and focusing only on those we can, and taking God as our partner. That is where our power lies.

~Faith

Leave a Reply

