~It’s a Wonderful Life~ by Rheannon

I think everyone gets a little misty eyed at the end of a holiday movie.  I know I do!  There’s just something about a great Thanksgiving or Christmas or New Year’s movie that gets our little hearts happy.

I’ve been watching a bunch of holiday season movies.  I love this time of year!  Pastor Shawn is about to start a series at Whitefish Assembly called “Its a Wonderful Life.”  Guess what the inspiration for the series is?  You guessed it!  Sunday we were all given a little homework at church-to go home and watch the classic movie!

There’s so much to be said for thankfulness.  It can change our hearts from bitterness to gladness and from sorrow to joy.  The circumstances surrounding thankfulness may not change one bit, but our attitudes and outlook can change dramatically when we take thankfulness for real.

Remember the movie?  George goes from happiness to all discombobulated with bitterness and discouragement.  Then something remarkable happens!  He gets to see what the world would be like if he had never lived at all.  Let me tell you, its a whole different and colder planet!

By the end of the film, George decides he really wants “to live again” and return to his old life.  He comes back so full of thankfulness and joy, that even the old house he used to hate brings him utter happiness!

What are you thankful for in your life?  I’m sure you can make a pretty good sized list – even if you are struggling right now.  I know these last few weeks have been really hard for me, and sometimes I feel a bit bummed out and frustrated with my dietary restrictions.

Yesterday I reminded myself of the blessings of God in my life.  I actually have food to eat…water to drink…

What could be different in your life if you chose to be thankful today?  Its not always easy, but its always good!

Check this out: 1 Thessalonians 5:18 “Be thankful in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Your homework for the week??  Grab some popcorn or leftover pie, cuddle up on the couch and watch “It’s a Wonderful Life.”

It really is after all.

~Rheannon

 

Leave a Reply

