~Failing Forward~ By Faith

Failure

What an intimidating word.  None of us want to experience it.  Failure can take a toll on our pride and leave us feeling like we just got punched in the stomach.  It can sound so adventurous and romantic to chase our dreams or set goals but then we are required to do things that scare us, or are unfamiliar and stretch us. When we finally do the thing that is so intimidating, it can and will likely at some point present obstacles.  This does not feel good.  Our flesh wants comfort, it wants the familiar, wants to protect us from pain.

Why would we knowingly risk pain again?  Risk rejection, embarrassment and the unknown?   This is how we grow!  We don’t grow when things are easy.

We must learn to acknowledge that a temporary defeat is not permanent failure.  It is a very small number of people who will continue on after 3 or 4 “temporary defeats,” choosing not to make them more than what they are…not making it personal or permanent.  Instead, they keep their focus, not looking to the left or the right.

As Paul Tobey so wisely states, “Success is not for the chosen few – it’s for the few who choose.”

I find that keeping my focus on the eternal perspective really helps me when it comes to failure. What am I really working towards in my time here on earth?  Chances are I can still be a shining light for the kingdom even if I made mistakes today.  The angels are still cheering me on even if someone rejected me.  God is still getting the glory when the right person is ready to hear.  In fact the platform that will be available to me to be able to give Him that glory, if I simply chose to be one of the few will be worth all of the times I fell flat on my face.

 

James 1:12

“Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love Him.”

 

~Faith

Leave a Reply

