~Just~ By Faith

“Just…”

It was about a year ago that this word was brought to my attention from a dear friend of mine.  It never felt that great to say, but I hadn’t given it much thought before then.

She said, “Why do we say ‘Just’ ALL the time?”

I ‘just’ want this or I ‘just’ need more money or time.  Or,  if I ‘just’ didn’t have this obstacle then I could do this and this.

So what does this ever popular word even mean??

One definition of the word ‘just’ is… barely enough to get by.

Oofta.

I’m pretty sure I do not want “barely enough to get by” to define any area of my life!

It was SO eye opening.  I was speaking lack in almost every sentence I was speaking.

“The power of the tongue is life and death.”  Proverbs 18:21.  Our words are so powerful and ultimately, we want to speak life!

Once I was aware of how often I was using this word, trying to replace it with something else or nothing at all, it hit me how much I was saying it even in my prayers.

Oh my goodness, it was in every one!

Here I am trying to pray bold prayers and muddying them with this word of lack. Why does it have to be ‘just’ enough?

Our God is an ‘and’ God, as another wise friend of mine has said.  Not an either or God.  He is a God of abundance.

Ephesians 3:20 states, “Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to the power that is at work within us…”

Maybe we need to find the deeper root of why we are limiting ourselves even in our honest, vulnerable time with God.

In this case, I would take out some paper and write out what lies I’m believing- the ones telling me that I don’t deserve abundance or over and above healing, or the most passionate marriage that ever existed. Why not?

Then be still and listen and start writing what comes.  Talk to God as you keep dealing with it, asking Him to help you to “Be transformed by the renewing of your mind,” Romans 12:2.

How amazing would it feel to speak life over ourselves, our family, friends and loved ones?!

Boy – that would make the enemy squirm wouldn’t it?  Sounds like fun.

~Faith

2 thoughts on “~Just~ By Faith

Leave a Reply

