~Breathe in, Breathe out, Be Thankful~ By Rheannon

Do you ever have that “I wanna pull my hair out” feeling?  I mean, really, stuff is piling up and it seems like there is no end in sight!  You know what I mean – that bill has to be paid, the kids have a school function, you want to have some alone time with your spouse but you feel super exhausted – on and on.

Today was like that for me.  I went to work, ran errands, couldn’t get all of them run, made a chicken, threw in an extra practice for an event, made plans with my husband to have a fun Friday out, and MAN!  I’m tired!

My hubby prayed something at the table tonight that is sinking into me even as I write this blog.  He prayed, “Lord, help us to be more thankful for what you have given us.”

I want to be thankful every day.  I know at times it seems like life just rakes us over the coals, but there is always someone who is struggling more than we are.  I know, I know, you’ve heard that line absolutely hundreds of times, I am sure.  But when I really start to get annoyed at my day or the situation I am in, it helps to remind myself of that simple statement.  It puts me in a position of gratitude instead of grudge.  It gives me an opportunity to pray for those who aren’t as fortunate as I am.

Thankfulness.  I know I have already posted blogs on this subject before.  It just seems to be one of those things that we as believers have to come back to sometimes.  Remember what Paul says in 1 Thessalonians 5:16- “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” And in Philippians 4:19, “…my God will meet all your needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus.”  Not always an easy task!

Truly though, we are fortunate to have chores, chickens to bake and clothes to pick up from the dry cleaners.  So, I didn’t get everything done today that I was hoping to do, but there’s tomorrow still.  I am thankful for what I did get done.

Breathe in, breathe out, be thankful.

~Rheannon

Leave a Reply

