~Christmas- A different perspective~ By Christina

The holidays are here.  Celebration and decorating are in full swing.

I have a new perspective this year.  Yes, I’m completely committed to putting up a tree inside and lights on the outside of my house.  Yes, I will celebrate Jesus’ birth; it just has a different nuance for me this year.

My Dad died a year ago this month. I have a sense of loss that I never have had before.  Although I know he is in heaven, celebrating at the foot of the throne of God, its still hard.

 

Revelation 21:4

He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

Matthew 5:4

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

 

In my loss, God knows.

I wonder how God felt on the day Jesus was born as a human.

We commemorate Jesus’ birth as the day salvation came to earth.  We give presents.  We sing carols.  It’s full of joy for us.

Yet God had eternal perspective. He knew that it would only be 33 years before Jesus experienced the worst pain possible.

Letting part of Himself be born in a manger…  Knowing He was letting part of Himself face anonymity, ridicule, pain, and then, death?  Knowing He had sent His son away to isolation and temptation, even though it was for a purpose?

I couldn’t do it.

But God knew there was no other way for us to know Him.

And God knew, that this year especially, I would need to know he understood my feelings of loss.

 

Matthew 1:23

“Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and they shall call his name Immanuel” (which means, God with us).

 

God with us.  God with me.  God with you.

 

Joy to the world! The Lord is come.

Let earth receive her King

Let every heart

Prepare Him room

And heaven and nature sing

And heaven and nature sing

And heaven and heaven and nature sing

 

~Christina

Leave a Reply

