~Straight Shooting~ By Leaona

~Powerful Women of God Blog~

Encouraging, Empowering and Strengthening others in Life, Love, Destiny and Faith.

~Straight Shooting~ By Leaona

Single parents could easily be some of the most hard-working, insecure, and deeply inspired people in the world. Really – what can be more inspiring than those 2 small, sparkly, idolizing eyes staring up at you in blind expectation?  They are also the most motivating – who wouldn’t want to lead well?

But they can leave you feeling “not enough.”  Even more so when the sparkle turns to fire, and is at the same height (or taller) as your own, tired eyes!

I have never done any more important or inspiring job in my life.  I have never tried harder, never loved more, never celebrated another soul with more gladness.  I have never aimed more carefully.  I have never missed the mark with more anguish.  Sometimes, no matter how hard I tried, I messed up.  When you fail your own child, the sense of loss is beyond all others.

Still, I look at them now as adults, and I am amazed at how wonderfully they turned out.  Clearly, God covered my many parenting flaws.

I remember one afternoon when I arrived home from work to quite a heart-shaking surprise.  My kids, home a bit ahead of me as teens, were out in the back yard sparing.  They were in a karate class, so often did this on nice days, using sticks mostly, that my son fashioned into whatever they needed.  He was very good at that.  On this day, however, they were using the heirloom ornamental axe and sword their dad had brought them from Spain!  I had kittens all the way from the car to the back yard.

It had not occurred to me, until that moment, to hermetically seal them, place them in a trunk, and bury them under my garage in a time capsule for 10 years.

Still, they did survive, and, indeed, flourished.  They are both wonderful, intelligent, world changers.  As I watch the “arrows” I was given, I know for sure there were times I did not shoot straight.  But Holy Spirit has a way of sending real-time Corrective Grace to keep us from totally missing the mark.

Holy Spirit will train our children in a way that is far superior, even though we try hard to succeed for them.  Heb 12:10:  “For our earthly fathers disciplined us for a few years, doing the best they knew how. But God’s discipline is always good for us, so that we might share in his holiness.” NLT

There is a special kind of weariness that single parents endure for years.  Don’t give up!  If you fall, God will raise you up!   Prov 24:16: “The godly may trip seven times, but they will get up again.”  NLT

~Leaona

PS- Enjoy the Flashback photo!

Leave a Reply

