~The Golden Rule~ By Faith

~Powerful Women of God Blog~

Encouraging, Empowering and Strengthening Women in Life, Love, Destiny and Faith

~The Golden Rule~ By Faith

I have a VERY happy marriage. I was blessed to meet my high school sweetheart at the age of 15 and have been with Him ever since. It has almost always felt easy to give 110% in our relationship and we know what we have is extremely rare.

When I think about why our marriage is the way it is, I think most of it comes down to the Golden Rule – to treat others how you would like to be treated. He does this for me, and I Him.
This phrase is so easy to throw around without giving it much thought, which is exactly what it takes to implement it.

Careful, considerate thought.

I often try to put myself in my husband’s shoes. How would I be feeling if I did His job, and all of the other responsibilities He handles? What would make His day?

I know He does this for me too. He has said before, “Why would I ever want to hurt my best friend?” He is careful of the words He speaks and the actions He takes.

The Golden Rule is so challenging because we are in our own mind and body all day every day. It is so easy to constantly be driven by what I want, how I feel. But, in this relationship, and in as many others as I am willing to pause and consider the Golden Rule, I never regret living this way.

Especially when I am not doing it for me!

Collisions 3:23 says, “Whatever you do, work at it with your whole being, for the Lord and not for men.”

This could be hard to imagine if the person you are thinking of doing this for isn’t doing it themselves. Outside of a completely unhealthy relationship, this is where the eternal perspective comes in. I never want to regret how I treated others. Someone has to start first.

I love to make others smile, or feel appreciated, but if human opinion was all that was driving me, I would grow weary. Most days, it is coming from the desire to hear the phrase “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

Think about how much fun it would be to release the results of the golden Rule to God and just love freely. To try to out serve each other. Brighten someone’s day, just because.

We won’t do it perfectly, we are human. But with the Holy Spirit guiding you, how intuitive and wonderful could this get?

~Faith Corpron
Independent Sales Director with Mary Kay Cosmetics
marykay.com/fcorpron
faithsfearlessfighters.com

Leave a Reply

