~Fixer Upper~ By Rheannon

Powerful Women of God Blog

-Encouraging, Empowering and Strengthening Women in Life, Love, Destiny and Faith-

~Fixer Upper~ By Rheannon

Sometimes you just have to rip stuff up. You know what I mean? I love the show “Fixer Upper” on HGTV.  Chip and Joanna Gaines are absolutely my favorite celebrity couple. To me, they really show how a husband and wife can tag team a job and do well together and I love that.

In “Fixer Upper,” Chip and Jo know there is beauty that lies beneath a mess. Sometimes the homes that they take on for their clients are straight up horrible places. They are broken down, beat up, weather damaged, stained, stinky, smelly, you name it. These homes have holes in the roof, holes in the floor, walls that need removed. It goes on and on.

I have to laugh to myself as I consider the very real connection between what the Gains’ do and what Christ does. Seriously- is there anything about those houses that does not sound like the human condition?  We all have walls that need to come down, holes in our hearts, and messy minds and thoughts. We are distressed by the weathering of this life and by the hurts we have endured. Sometimes all that we have going for us is our frame – the fact that we are alive and standing, right?

THAT’S PERFECT. What does Jesus say about broken people? He LOVES them. Jesus told the Jewish leaders that he came for sick people, saying, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”  (Luke 5:31)

I love this so much more than I did before! Think about those houses that Chip and Jo just slave over. They look at them, see the potential, and begin the work it takes to make those places a stunning dream home.

God looks at us and sees our potential. He knows that if we will allow Him to do the work in our lives, He can make something beautiful out of us! What a crazy awesome revelation!!!

Do you have walls you need taken down in your heart? Me too. How about holes in your soul? Me too…Weathered from life’s hurts? Me too!!!

Praise God that He sent Jesus Christ to heal our brokenness and restore us! And, WOW! Jesus died for our sins so that we could actually HAVE a relationship with God if we will accept Christ’s sacrifice! We are not alone in all of life’s struggles – no. We have a God who loves us in spite of our certain deficiencies and wants to help us. It can take a lifetime to create a new person out of us. God never stops working in our lives and hearts when we allow him to.

I know God will be working on me my whole lifetime.  I want Him to.  I love Psalm 51:10 – “Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.”

Jesus says, “Come to me all who are weak and burdened and I will give you rest.” (Matt 11:28)

Listen, you don’t have to get yourself “together” before you come to God for help. That is a lie and a trap from the enemy. After all, no one will ever have all their stuff together. That is only a trapping thought to keep you from coming to God with all your “stuff.” He is the only one who can make us well.

Where have you seen God come through in a Powerful way for you? Where do you need prayer? Let us know in the comment section below and we will surround you in prayer. Come to Jesus – He loves fixer uppers.

~Rheannon

2 thoughts on “~Fixer Upper~ By Rheannon

Leave a Reply

