~Committing Again~ By Christina

Powerful Women of God Blog

Encouraging, Empowering and Strengthening Women in Life, Love, Destiny and Faith.

~Committing Again~ By Christina

Do you ever let people down? How do you react? I know what I do. I beat myself up.  I remind myself how often I blow it.  I have a hard time committing to do anything. Ever. Again.
I recently let someone down.  Committed to do something.  Forgot.  Agreed to do it the next time.  Didn’t.  Just didn’t get to it.
Don’t get me wrong, this person is important to me.  Just apparently not as important to me as I am. Selfishness; it rears its ugly head in my life.  A lot.  I want to do what I need to do.  I don’t commit to things that I don’t think are worthwhile… Sometimes I don’t understand why I don’t do what I say I will.
I’m absolutely certain no one else deals with feeling like I do, but just in case you are a little like me, I want to tell you something amazing.

God knows.  God knows and still loves me. God knows I am going to declare my love and commitment, start well, and drift off after awhile.  Sometimes I keep going for longer than other times, but, inevitably I am going to have to be reminded, rescued, or punished with love. And then I will recommit, declare my love and start over.
And He is allows me to return.  Again.  And Again.  Again.  And Again.

In Deuteronomy 27- 29, as Moses is delivering his final words to the people of Israel. He reminds them of their covenant with God, full of promises of blessings for obedience and warnings of curses for disobedience. He reminds them of many things they must not do. Really, it’s a bit overwhelming for me, because I blow it so much. I let God down so much. I have so many unfulfilled commitments. I was discouraged during my devotion time, until I read Deuteronomy 30:
1“In the future, when you experience all these blessings and curses I have listed for you, and when you are living among the nations to which the Lord your God has exiled you, take to heart all these instructions. 2 If at that time you and your children return to the Lord your God, and if you obey with all your heart and all your soul all the commands I have given you today, 3 then the Lord your God will restore your fortunes. He will have mercy on you and gather you back from all the nations where he has scattered you. 4 Even though you are banished to the ends of the earth, the Lord your God will gather you from there and bring you back again. 5 The Lord your God will return you to the land that belonged to your ancestors, and you will possess that land again. Then he will make you even more prosperous and numerous than your ancestors!
6 “The Lord your God will change your heart and the hearts of all your descendants, so that you will love him with all your heart and soul and so you may live!”

No matter how much I wander, how many times I disappoint, God allows me to return.
I hope you are as encouraged as I am.  God is always looking for my return so He can extend mercy and restore.  And He is always looking for your return, too.

Committing again,

Christina

Leave a Reply

