~It Doesn’t Depend On…~ By Rheannon

Powerful Woman of God Blog

Encouraging, Empowering and Srengthening Women in Life, Love, Destiny and Faith.

~It Doesn’t Depend On…~ By Rheannon

I’m at the gym loving on my treadmill with every step I take -LOL- and feeling the burn in my lungs. Ugh. The burn. I’ve got this thing on an incline and tonight I feel like I’m training for a hike up Everest. (It wasn’t really that bad-it was only on 4;)

My lungs have been in a state of rest for the last month, as you know, while I traveled with my husband across country. We did some physical work, absolutely, even helped a family member move, but I did a whole lot of sitting. I’m feeling that reality in my workouts.

It’s hard to get back into something when you haven’t done it for a while, right?  It could be lifting weights or cardio or eating healthy or reading your Bible. Whatever it is, once we lay it down, it can be hard to pick back up!

God has this crazy thing He likes to do – love people. I don’t know about you but there are times when I mega don’t feel like I deserve it. I feel like I should be earning it – as though God’s love was a hike I should be preparing for every day. And yes, we should desire our relationship with God to grow deeper and more intimate. But never think that His love for you is contingent upon your ability to love Him or be good enough.

Why did Jesus die??  Because we as human beings were desperately lost in our selfishness and sin (the bad things we do that separate us from a perfect God).  There was no hope.  But God…


So what does this mean for us?  Jesus’ death and resurrection from it means that we have access to God the Father through Jesus Himself. We don’t have to earn it, in fact we cannot earn it. It is a gift to be received from the heart of Christ.  Instead of condemnation, love.

Relationship with God. For you. For me. And we don’t have to hike Everest for it. All we have to do is ask and believe.

~Rheannon

Leave a Reply

