~The Wisdom of a Parent~ By Sue

Powerful Woman of God Blog

Encouraging, Empowering and Strengthening Women in Life, Love, Destiny and Faith

~Proverbs: Parent’s Instruction~ By Sue

Proverbs 1:

8 “Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction
    and do not forsake your mother’s teaching.
They are a garland to grace your head
    and a chain to adorn your neck.”

I have tried to avoid the phrase, “In my day…”, with my children and in general conversation.  I remember how eyes would roll when our parents would begin a sentence with those words.  But as the years go by and the world continues to change by the dozens,  I’ve begun to look back at the way things were handled when I was a youth.

It’s funny how much we ‘think we know’ when we are young.  We tend to look at the older generation as ‘old-fashioned’.  Used up and just not hip or with it.  Not current with information.  If I would have had more wisdom as a youth, I would have realized the fact that my parents had much more time to make mistakes.  That their wisdom and instruction came from being ‘tried and true’. Even if I would not have listened to their instruction and teaching, I needed to listen to their mistakes and learn from them.

screen-shot-2016-09-22-at-10-01-07-am

I came from a broken family.  My mom was both the father and mother figure in our household.  The things that she taught me kept me safe and the wisdom I gleaned was tucked away and re-opened when I became a parent.  It’s funny how much I thought she ‘didn’t know’ when I was a youth, but realized how strong her wisdom was when my youth had passed.

My girls catch themselves and smile when they say something that mom or dad taught them in their youth.  They find themselves quoting us with those one-liners that we taught them while raising them.  Giving them nuggets of wisdom to carry into their lives. To wear as a garland around their head and a chain to adorn their necks.

My youngest daughter called me today.  She was on a plane flying back from London and the flight attendant approached her before landing.  She said, “I just wanted to tell you that you are the kindest young woman I have encountered lately.  I have two 27 year old daughters and what I’ve gathered from this generation is that they are very rude and self-entitled.  I just want you to know your parents taught you well.”  Jewels called to thank me and her dad for teaching her well.

Solomon’s words and his instruction to ‘listen’ to our parents are more powerful as years go by.  Cherish the wisdom of your parent’s instruction.  When you look back through the lens of time, you will be able to pick out those pieces of wisdom that your parents had given you.  Grab them and hold onto them…no matter what age you are.

Creatively His, Sue:)

Leave a Reply

