~Potentially Crazy…” By Rheannon

Powerful Woman of God Blog

Encouraging, Empowering and Strengthening Women in Life, Love, Destiny and Faith

~Potentially Crazy~ By Rheannon

Senator Jesse Helms once said, “Your job is to get up every morning and place the ‘important’ at the center of your desk, working on it until the ‘urgent’ overwhelms it.”

I don’t know about you, but I can think of WHOLE days that have gone by eaten up by the “urgent.” This person needs this, and I should really swing by and pick up that, and OOOoooohhhh! That pin about home décor on Pinterest is amazing…(and an hour is gone!). I bet you know the feeling. While I understand that some of those things must be done, I cannot help but feel as though sometimes I fill my day up with less important things that leave me feeling my objective for the day has gone un met…yet again.

Man! It’s so easy to let the everyday busy stuff crowd out what I know I really need to be doing. When my dad gave me this quote, I looked at it intently and was inspired. I wrote it on an index card and taped it to the wall above my desk. It serves as a great reminder! I am focusing more on the “important” now. I even restricted my own social media use until I have accomplished certain things each day. I removed the notifications from my phone lock screen so they aren’t constantly staring me in the face. It was a simple thing, but I can’t tell you what a difference just doing THAT has made in my effectiveness for the day! I would encourage you to try it and see what I mean. It’s pretty amazing.

 
Check out this powerful message from Proverbs 22:29-

Do you see someone skilled in their work?
They will serve before kings;
they will not serve before officials of low rank.

I love this verse as an artist. It helps to push me to do better at what I love. Writing, singing and performing music. What is your passion? What would you be able to do with it if you focused on the importance of it and didn’t let the “stuff” crowd it out until it was actually “urgent?”

Let’s nail this thing. We have crazy potential. I’m ready to chase mine, are you ready to chase yours?

~Rheannon

Leave a Reply

