~Looking at the Wall~ By Christina

Powerful Women of God Blog

Encouraging, Empowering and Strengthening Women in Life, Love, Destiny and Faith

~Looking at the Wall~ By Christina

I have an obstacle in my life I feel like I will never overcome. It’s so ingrained in my behavior that I barely notice when it is taking control of my perspective. I’ve come to realize it’s a sin. Not one of those that will make me a pariah among my fellow Christians. Not one that will ruin my marriage. But, it is a controlling issue in my life. It influences how I think God sees me. It changes how I see myself. It makes me feel powerless.

Powerless. When I read my Bible, that is a ridiculous way for me to feel.

I’m reading Joshua in my devotions right now. It would be easy to breeze through the stories that I have heard so many times. Thankfully, the Holy Spirit didn’t let me do that this week. The recording of the people of Israel approaching the fortified city of Jericho is just a few verses.

Joshua 6:1-2
Now Jericho was shut up inside and outside because of the people of Israel. None went out, and none came in. And the Lord said to Joshua, “See, I have given Jericho into your hand, with its king and mighty men of valor.”

I was struck by one word.

“See”

Imagine Joshua and his army looking up at the wall of Jericho. Archaeology suggests that the wall was 5 to 6.5 feet thick and 12 to 17 feet high. Surrounding the wall was a ditch 27 feet wide and 9 feet deep.
I would look at that and decide that the ditch was my death pit and realize that at the bottom at the death pit the wall was now at least 21 feet high. Not happening. We are not taking that city. That wall cannot be overcome. This battle cannot be won. We are powerless.

That was not Gods perspective.

“See, I have given Jericho into your hand” Whatever you see, whatever it looks like, you have already won it. Your battle is won. My battle is won. It is not hopeless. I am not powerless because I have God’s power in me.
Do you have an attitude, action or feeling that you feel you will never be able to control? A wall so high you can never knock it down in your life? God is telling you to look through His eyes. “See? I have already given you the victory, just have the courage to fight the battle.”

~Christina

(Wall Photo from- https://www.google.com/search?q=wall+of+jericho&client=safari&channel=iphone_bm&prmd=ivmn&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjG0vXpm6DSAhVM4GMKHVz7D7YQ_AUIBygB&biw=1024&bih=672#imgrc=N9IeN9yJWlWuOM:)

Leave a Reply

