~His What???~ By Rheannon

~His What???~ By Rheannon

Do you ever just look at someone and think, “Wow…that person is amazing,” or “Wow…that person is an idiot…”

I’ve been reading the Psalms again, connecting to the poetic descriptions of God’s deliverance of David. Psalm 18 has given me pause…

David was running. For his life! King Saul was after him, filled with jealousy and rage, coupled with insanity. Not a great combination. David is out in the desert, hiding as best he can, gathering men who would become his army. But, he is still running. Scared.

David is one of those guys in the Bible that makes me really think. He is called a man after God’s own heart. You could say, “Wow, that guy is amazing!” Yet, he was a liar, a conspirator, an adulterer and a murderer. Quite the list. Here he is though, largely before those things had occurred, out in the scorching middle eastern heat pleading with God for the defeat of those who sought his life unjustly.

God answers. He delivers David from all his enemies and from the wrath of King Saul. Go ahead and read the whole chapter. Get yourself in the mind of David- lost, running, pleading. I have heard someone say that what made David such a mighty warrior was that he was a mighty worshipper. He loved God and God loved him. God was not about to let a man who loved Him get caught by a psychopath. He rescues David from the hand of Saul in a dramatic display of thunder and lightning and darkness and frightening tremblings of the earth.

This is what David says about that rescue-

“The Lord has dealt with me according to my righteousness;
According to the cleanness of my hands he has rewarded me.
For I have kept the ways of the Lord; I have not done evil by
Turning away from my God…
The Lord has rewarded me according to my righteousness,
According to the cleanness of my hands in His sight.”

Mind. Blown.

When I think about what David is saying here, my mental jaw drops. God dealt with him based off a righteousness in Davids heart! His WHAT??! This man, who would later be guilty of the things listed above is actually saying that God cares about Righteousness in our lives. God loves Righteousness.

Check this one out-

“For the Lord is righteous, He loves justice; upright men will see His face.” (Ps. 11:7)

What is your life looking like? Is there Righteousness in you? If God were to deal with you based off of that, what would you expect to receive?

The way we live our lives actually does matter. We need to be careful of treating the Grace of God like a get out of jail free card. Like, “I asked Jesus to be my Lord, but I pretty much do whatever I feel like, because I know He will forgive me.”

Not good. Yes, God is a great forgiver. He does release us from the penalties for the sin in our lives IF we have asked Jesus to be our Lord and Savior. But, that doesn’t mean that we should live any way that we feel like.

God delivered David powerfully, but fast forward several years, and we see that God deals harshly with David for taking the wife of Uriah, a beautiful woman called Bathsheba, sleeping with her, impregnating her, and then killing her husband to cover up what He had done. This would be a great “Wow that guy is an idiot” moment. I mean, murder?! God does not rescue Him from the consequences of his actions this time as David wanted Him to. However, David repented, asked for Forgiveness, and was LATER called a man after God’s own heart. Beautiful.

So, what about us? Are we loving God? Living Righteous lives? Loving others? Serving others? There are great rewards for living lives like this- perhaps the greatest reward of all is seeing people come to know Jesus through our lives and behavior.

If you mess up, repent, like David. Keep moving forward toward righteousness. Be a Woman after God’s own heart. A powerful one.

~Rheannon

Leave a Reply

