“Game Face”~ By Rheannon

Powerful Woman of God Blog

Encouraging, Empowering and Strengthening Women in Life, Love, Destiny and Faith. 

~”Game Face” By Rheannon~

I’ll tell you a secret…

I’m standing at the bottom of the stairs waiting to go on stage in front of one of my largest audiences ever. 

Nerves. Heart races. Excitement builds inside my soul. It’s time. 

Putting a confident high heeled shoe on the first step, I go into my zone. As I rise the next three steps, total peace washes my mind. I’m ready. 

Show time. 

Killed it. Praise God, it was an amazing experience, yet again, but on a level I had not known. I walked off the stage that day with my band – winning the local leg of the Texaco Country Showdown. 

“Don’t you get nervous?” People ask me that all the time. Absolutely! I’m nervous right up until I step on the stage. After that I’m good. How? My secret…

“Game face.” 

I do it just about every time I perform. It’s my phrase – my pep talk to myself. Remember Faith’s blog about positive self talk? It’s really a thing. It can change your whole outlook and get you ready for whatever you are about to do. 

For me, that positive self talk is “game face.” It reminds me that it’s show time. Time to roll. Time to do what I do. Time to lay everything leading up to that moment down and get the job done. It’s my focus phrase. 

I have to give the credit for this phrase to none other than Christian Rap Artist KJ-52. His song, “Game Face” is a tool I use to cut loose and focus all at the same time. I play it to myself when I really have to nail it! 

Remember, “God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, love and a sound mind.” (2 Tim 1:7)

Tonight or tomorrow when you face your challenge, bring that verse to mind. Whatever your power phrase is, speak it over yourself, and like Faith said, allow it to change your perspective. 

And go ahead, I don’t mind if you borrow mine! 🙂

~Rheannon

Check it out! —

“Game Face” by KJ-52

https://youtu.be/VfT8Aqi-BsY

Leave a Reply

