~My Dog Keisha~By Leaona

Powerful Woman of God Blog

Encouraging, Empowering and Strengthening Women in Life, Love, Faith and Destiny. 

~My Dog Keisha~ By Leaona

The dog sits on my lap, and licks the front of my shirt. Left over lunch…how did she know? I know she loves me for more than just the chicken noodle soup on my lapel. I can see it in her eyes. I’ve never given her flowers, but I feed and water her every day, and share small morsels, even if she doesn’t beg.
She has a blanket in every room, because I know that’s what she really likes. Her favorite is thick, with fake lamb’s wool on one side. It’s soft, and really warm – like a big, continuous hug. Who can blame her?

Keisha does have a few toys she plays with, but the blanket is her most prized possession. When I wash it, she lays on the couch in the same spot and stares at me to remind me it is missing. If I take too long, she barks. When I bring it back, warm from the dryer, she spins in anticipatory circles of joyfulness. Then she buries herself in the fluff and I don’t see her for a while.

She likes me to sit on the couch with her, and she snuggles up next to me on her blanket, and keeps my leg warm, or just stares at me with her little doggie eyes that say she loves me. Sometimes so much so that it overwhelmes me.

And I pet her, and tell her she’s my favorite.

Love isn’t always complicated. Sometimes it’s just quietly, warmly, sharing life. Snuggling up, listening until you can hear their heart beat. Filling a shadow together under a tree. 

I know Keisha’s likes and dislikes because I care, so I count. I count the things that matter to her and I act on them. I count the things that bother her and I avoid them, as long as it’s good for her.

Sometimes, dogs really are like people, huh?!?

Leaona

Leave a Reply

