~Plans~ By Christina

Powerful Woman of God Blog

Encouraging, Empowering and Strengthening Women in Life, Love, Destiny and Faith. 

Ever wish you had a minute, an hour or a day back? Something you did or said that changed your future? Wishing you could pull the time back into your pocket? A moment that made you wonder why it was allowed to happen?
That happened to me three weeks ago. We had been stopped on a trip by a blizzard, but all was well because we had made it safely to a hotel before we were stuck on the highway. A good nights sleep and we were ready to make the rest of the journey. It was an important trip- my second daughter was invited to a big time scholarship interview at the college of her choice.

Walking out of the hotel, I slipped on the ice. One second I was fine, looking forward to the day and considering how to make it as stress-free as possible for daughter #2, the next second I was on the ground in terrible pain. I tore my ACL.  

Yesterday I was told I need surgery and that recovery will take months. Wait! I have plans for the summer! I have things to do that matter!  

Nope- my knee says. You will do as I need for the next few months.

This is not my plan. Can’t I have that moment back? That step onto the ice? Why do I do things like this to myself?

But for some reason, it is in his plan. I don’t like it, and he probably doesn’t either, but, somehow, it is within his plan for my life.

I don’t know why he let it happen or how he will use it, but I choose to trust him.

 He is the loving Father that gives me what I need:

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 

Matthew 6:26 

He doesn’t let anything in my life go to waste:

 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

Romans 8:28

 He takes this pain (and my bad attitude about it) and makes something beautiful:

To all who mourn in Israel, he will give a crown of beauty for ashes, a joyous blessing instead of mourning, festive praise instead of despair. In their righteousness, they will be like great oaks that the LORD has planted for his own glory  

Isaiah 61:3

 Yes, things much worse happen to other people, many people are suffering in terrible ways that I am not. But God is not asking me to quash my frustration and disappointment in a game of comparison. He is asking me to trust him during this season. And during the next. And the one after that. 

 Whether I do it to myself, whether it stems from a sinful choice I make, whether it is something done to me, God can make it beautiful. God can redeem it. God can work it into something that brings him glory. I choose the future that he controls instead of the one that I “plan.” His plan is always better anyway.

(And yes, my daughter got the scholarship, in case you are wondering. I am a proud mom!)

~ Christina 

Leave a Reply

