~Personal Responsibility~ By Faith

Powerful Women of God Blog

Encouraging, Empowering and Strengthening Women in Life, Love, Destiny and Faith.

Personal responsibility~By Faith
This has definitely not always been my favorite topic, although it is one that has provided me with so much personal growth. I remember one day complaining to my husband about an obligation that I had committed to – something I really didn’t want to do – saying that the person had talked me into this appointment. As I heard myself, I realized that no one can force me do something,(aside from a trauma)…that it’s my choice.

I heard a pastor say “if you can’t do the thing that you’re committing to with the attitude you had when you committed to it then don’t do it.” In other words, if my attitude about this thing is one of negativity on my part, or guilt, then why am I doing it?

We can really talk ourselves into being victims of situations, show up with a bad attitude and not do anybody any favors. This keeps us from being able to work at something with our whole hearts for God!

Colossians 3:23-24
“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”

This brings a whole lot of intention to letting your “yes be yes and your no be no.” We are where we are by the choices that we have made or allowed others to make for us. If you’re not where you want to be because of choices that you have made in the past, the time to start changing those choices is now!

It has been extremely empowering for me to take personal responsibility in every situation. If it’s always someone else’s fault I have no power to change my circumstances and then I have made myself a victim with no hope. Acknowledging that I do have the power to make changes feels amazing. Once that realization is in place, I am now in the position to take action one step at a time.

It is even more freeing when you realize you don’t have to explain yourself to anybody.
There’s a difference between what’s good and what’s best. Figure out what are your best commitments. How can you plan a margin in your day, time to rest and time for things that fill your cup? It all comes down to intention and starts with taking personal responsibility for your own happiness, schedule, and future.

Now, I’m not talking about throwing people to the wayside so we can do whatever we feel like whenever we feel like it – simply that we have the power to arrange our priorities according to our faith, our family and our current and future goals, instead of being dragged about by things that pull us too many different directions.

It’s pretty exciting to realize that choices and habits have led to where you are now and that you could be in a completely different place six months from now or year from now or five years from now by tweaking those decisions.

What is your best life? Your highest self? What does it look like to stop being spread too thin? What would it feel like to have more time for the purposes of God, your spouse or family? Think on it, then break down how do you get from A to B and start making those choices to being a better and fuller Powerful Woman of God!

~Faith

Leave a Reply

