~”Super Woman”~ By Rheannon

Powerful Woman of God Blog

Encouraging, Empowering and Strengthening Women in Life, Love, Destiny and Faith.

~”Super Woman”~ By Rheannon

I don’t know how to not be busy. I’m a hard worker, and driven to achieve goals. It’s a serious deal for me. But, something inside me must think, if I’m not on the brink of implosion, I’m not working hard enough.

I bet you know what I mean. So many people struggle with busyness – its a chronic issue. Think about it, anxiety, chronic fatigue, sleepless nights, sleeping pills, stress, you name it! Being overly busy comes with so many tag-alongs.

I was chatting with a friend this morning about the issue of over doing it. Lately, I haven’t been to the gym as I normally do. I can’t. I miss it so badly, but I just can’t. I am working a part – time job right now, as well as booking gigs, doing call back’s, practicing with the band, practicing for duo shows, leading worship and on and on. Not to mention the obvious! I’m a wife and a friend and a sister! Woah! This meme pretty much sums it up-

IMG_0297
Do you ever feel like this? It’s amazing how often I fall into the trap of busy. It’s hard for me to remember to take a sabbath and rest a little! I sometimes think that the more I do, the more successful I will be. NOT TRUE. There’s only so much of me to go around. I don’t know about you, but when I make a peanut butter sandwich, I actually want peanut butter on it…as in actually being able to taste it…not just a quick dry scrape of peanut butter leftovers off yesterday’s butter knife! I don’t want my life to be like that either. HA!

Take a few minutes and look at what you do. What’s your motivation for doing it? Are you getting your identity from what you do, or from who you are? What we do is important, but we can’t let it drag us around by the nose, as we attempt to fill the need to be Super Woman. (We all struggle with that!). I’m here to tell you that you ARE Super Woman… already! Your identity does not come from what you do, but from the truth that God Himself has designed you and loves you! So much so that He would allow Jesus Christ to die on your behalf! On my behalf! Amazing!

God has given you unique gifts and talents and that makes you one of a kind, specifically designed to be who He has called you to be. You don’t have to prove yourself to Him, He’s already crazy about you!

Being the best that we can be doesn’t mean we have to kill ourselves on the alter of “busy”. It means taking time for the best things in our lives- God, His Word, our families, and then those other things, in moderation.
Dang, girl, I know it’s hard! I’m right there with you! I’m gonna take this one step at a time, by starting with carving out more personal time with God. I really need it. It’s funny how when things get hectic it’s the first thing to be pushed back. “I’ll totally spend time with you later God…” as I fall into bed exhausted. Not a guilt trip, just a truth. And I hate that!
So, one step at a time, pick something this week to scale back on. Or, ask for help. See if a friend would help you watch the kids or take them on a play date to the park where you can get a little bit of adult conversation on the park bench. Go for a mind clearing walk, listen to music, pray. Take a little rest time for yourself. Have a sabbath. Sit outside with a cup of coffee and actually talk to your spouse. Breathe in the spring air. Chill. Eat popcorn. Let Super Woman have a day off. She deserves it!
I think I hear the bathtub calling…and Ice cream…I hear that too…
XOXOXO
~Rheannon

Matthew 11:28 NIV “Come to me, all you who are wary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” – Jesus

Leave a Reply

